October 3, 2022

BOWMANVILLE, ON – JULY 07: Scott Pruett is shown in the pits during practice for the Mobil Sportscar Grand Prix IMSA WeatherTech Aeries race at Canadian Tire Mosport Park on July 7, 2017 in Bowmanville, Canada. (Photo by Brian Cleary/Getty Images)

Dr. Dick Berggren, Shirley Muldowney, Scott Pruett and Frank Kimmel have been elected to the National Motorsports Press Association Hall of Fame Class of 2023.

As required by the organization’s bylaws, the four members received more than 65% of the votes cast by NMPA members. Biographies of the new inductees are below.

Berggren and Muldowney led the vote, obtaining 84% of the votes cast. Pruett was elected with 71% of the votes cast, while Kimmel won 68%.

The four individuals are not only outstanding in their chosen professions, they are also highly respected in the motorsport community. They will be honored at the NMPA Hall of Fame induction ceremony at the NMPA Annual Convention in late January 2023. Additional details of the ceremony will be announced at a later date.

The NMPA Hall of Fame, which highlights all of the inductees and other honorees, is located on the grounds of Darlington Raceway. It has been in operation since 1965.

NMPA Hall of Fame Class of 2023

Dr. Dick BerggrenFrom driver to legendary announcer, Berggren began his motorsport career that spanned more than four decades in 1967, racing Super Modifieds, Modifieds, stock and Sprint cars while also serving as a PA announcer at Arundel Speedway in Maine. Berggren’s love of racing led him to write about the sport for various newspapers as well as Stock Car Racing magazine, of which he became the editor. Berggren won 26 races before giving up driving in 1981 when he began his more than two-decade run as a NASCAR television show star. Berggren became familiar to viewers on ESPN while also appearing on CBS, TBS and TNN before capping his career with a 12-year stint as a senior pit reporter for Fox Sports’ NASCAR television broadcasts. Before retiring from his television career, Berggren founded Speedway Illustrated.

Shirley Muldowney– Known as the “first lady of drag racing,” Muldowney went from street racing to being the first woman to earn a Top Fuel drag racing license. She was not only the first woman to win an NHRA World Championship, but the first person to win two, then three Top Fuel titles – 1977, 1980, 1982. Muldowney earned her NHRA professional license in 1965, the first woman to get one. , and won her first major event in 1971. Overall, she has 18 NHRA National Series wins. She also won an IHRA Championship in 1981. Upon retirement, Muldowney began operating “Shirley’s Kidswhich helps children in need in cities where drag racing is part of the community.

Scott Pruett– Pruett began his racing career at the age of 8, competing in karts and eventually won 10 professional karting titles, including the Professional Karting Association World Championship in 1981. In his first full season in IMSA GTO (1986), he won the series championship and claimed it. again in 1988. He also won SCCA Trans-Am titles in 1987, 1994, and 2003. Pruett competed in 145 CART races between 1988 and 1999, recording two wins. After a brief foray into NASCAR, Pruett returned to sports car racing where he amassed 60 wins and 11 championships. Those wins include a record five overall wins at the 24 Hours of Daytona, a class win at the 24 Hours of Le Mans and an overall win at the 12 Hours of Sebring.

Frank Kimmel – Kimmel made his mark in the ARCA Menards series. He is the only 10-time champion in series history, winning a remarkable eight consecutive titles from 2000 to 2007. After earning his first victory at Toledo Speedway in 1994, two years after winning the series rookie , Kimmel has amassed a career-best 80 wins. and 44 poles. He was the first ARCA driver selected to participate in the International Race of Champions in 2006.

— National Motorsport Press Association —