September 25, 2022

All times Eastern


Quaker State 400 presented by Walmart

Location: Hampton, Georgia.

Time: Saturday, qualifying, 11:35 a.m.; Sunday, race, 3 p.m. (USA).

Track: Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Race distance: 260 laps, 400 miles.

Last year: Kurt Busch won after starting eighth.

Last race: Tyler Reddick beat Chase Elliott and took the win at Road America for his first win in NASCAR’s premier series.

Fast facts: Reddick became the 13th different winner in 18 events and the fifth first-time winner this season. …His win made 2014 series champion Kevin Harvick the fourth non-winner in the standings, the first driver who wouldn’t make the 16-driver playoff if the standings remained the same in the final eight races of the season. regular. … Elliott widened his point lead to 33 over Ryan Blaney and 35 over Ross Chastain. … Blaney, Martin Truex Jr. and Christopher Bell are the top 16 non-winners.

Next race: July 17, Loudon, New Hampshire.



Alsco Uniforms 250

Location: Hampton, Georgia.

Time: Saturday, qualifying, 10:05 a.m., and race, 5 p.m. (USA).

Track: Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Race distance: 163 laps, 251 miles.

Last year: Kyle Busch won from pole position.

Last race: Ty Gibbs passed Kyle Larson in the final lap of overtime at Road America and won the best series for the fourth time this season.

Fast facts: Gibbs cut his 25-point deficit to nine behind points leader AJ Allmendinger. Justin Allgaier is third, 34 points behind. … Gibbs has won four times in 16 races this season and eight times in 34 races in his career; no other driver has won more than twice this season. … Allmendinger recorded his 14th top 10 of the season. Noah Gragson, fourth, is next at 11.

Next race: July 16, Loudon, New Hampshire.



O’Reilly Ato Parts 150 in Mid Ohio

Location: Lexington, Ohio.

Schedule: Friday, practice, 9:35 a.m. and qualifications, 3:35 p.m.; Saturday, race, 1:30 p.m. (FS1).

Track: Central Ohio Sports Car Course.

Race distance: 67 laps, 151 miles.

Last year: First time in this place.

Last race: Ryan Preece pulled away on a restart with 10 laps to go, then withstood challenges from Zane Smith and Carson Hocevar to win in Nashville for the second straight year.

Fast facts: Preece’s two wins have come in just eight career starts. … Zane Smith is the new points leader with 21 points over John Hunter Nemechek and 30 over defending series champion Ben Rhodes. … Smith also leads with eight top-five finishes, 12 top 10s and 339 laps in the lead. … The top five in the standings are the only series regulars to have won races this season.

Next race: July 23, Long Pond, Pennsylvania.



Austrian Grand Prix

Location: Spielberg, Austria.

Schedule: Friday, practice, 7:30 a.m. and qualifications, 11 a.m.; Saturday, practice, 6:30 a.m. and sprint, 10:30 a.m.; Sunday, race, 9 a.m. (ESPN).

Circuit: Red Bull Ring.

Race distance: 71 laps, 190.42 miles.

Last year: Max Verstappen won consecutive weekends, both times from pole position.

Last race: Carlos Sainz Jr. won the British Grand Prix, his first career Formula 1 victory, when a late tire change allowed him to pull away.

Fast facts: Sainz’s win came on his 150th F1 start. … He became only the fourth different winner in 10 races, with points leader Verstappen having won six times. … Seven-time series champion Lewis Hamilton led laps for the first time this season and finished third, only his third podium of the season. … Verstappen, who finished seventh after engine trouble, leads Sergio Perez by 34 points and Charles LeClerc by 43.

Next race: July 24, Le Castellet, France.



Last Race: Scott McLaughlin won for the second time in his career, both this season, edging out defending Series champion Alex Palou at Mid-Ohio.

Next race: July 17, Toronto, Canada.



Final event: Mike Salinas won in Top Fuel and Robert Hight won in Funny Car in Norwalk, Ohio.

Next event: July 15-17, Morrison, Colorado.



Upcoming events: July 8, West Burlington, Iowa, and July 9, Wilmot, Wisconsin.



More AP Auto Racing: and