August 20, 2022

Max Verstappen heads to Canada with an extended 21-point lead over Red Bull team-mate Sergio Perez after winning in Baku last weekend. Charles Leclerc has dropped to third place in the standings, 31 points behind Verstappen, after withdrawing from Azerbaijan due to technical issues with his Ferrari.

In the Constructors’ Championship, Red Bull hold a massive 81-point advantage over Ferrari due to their contrasting fortunes in recent races.

Canada has been a happy hunting ground for Lewis Hamilton, with the British driver winning a record equaling seven races at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve since his F1 debut in 2007, including four on the last five occasions.

However, as Mercedes struggled for competitiveness at the start of the ground effect era in F1, Red Bull and Ferrari are the favorites for the first Canadian GP since 2019.

Red Bull and Ferrari have won races in Montreal since the introduction of V6 turbo engines, with Daniel Ricciardo taking a memorable victory for the former in 2014 and Sebastian Vettel winning the 2018 edition of the race for the Scuderia.

Formula 1 Canadian Grand Prix 2022 session schedules in different time zones

Session

GMT

TSB

IT IS

HEY

PT

AEST

JST

STI

FP1

6:00 p.m.

19:00

20:00

14:00

11:00

04:00¹

03:00¹

23:30

FP2

21:0022:00

23:00

17:00

14:00

07:00¹

06:00¹

02:30¹

FP3

17:00

6:00 p.m.

19:00

13:00

10:00

03:00¹

02:00¹

22:30

Q

20:00

21:00

22:00

4:00 p.m.

13:00

06:00¹

05:00¹

01:30¹

Race

6:00 p.m.

19:00

20:00

14:00

11:00

04:00¹

03:00¹

23:30

2022 Formula 1 Canadian GP session times in Montreal

Friday, June 17, 2022

  • Free practice 1: 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. local time
  • Free Practice 2: 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. local time

Saturday, June 18, 2022

  • Free Practice 3: 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. local time
  • Qualifying: 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. local time

Sunday, June 19, 2022

2022 Formula 1 Canadian GP session times in UK and Portugal

Friday, June 17, 2022

  • Free practice 1: 7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. BST
  • Free practice 2: 22:00 – 23:00 BST

Saturday, June 18, 2022

  • Free Practice 3: 6:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m. BST
  • Qualifying: 9:00 p.m. – 2:00 a.m. BST

Sunday, June 19, 2022

2022 Formula 1 Canadian GP session times in Europe

Friday, June 17, 2022

  • Free practice 1: 8:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. CEST
  • Free practice 2: 23:00 -00:00 CEST

Saturday, June 18, 2022

  • Free practice 3: 7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. CEST
  • Qualifying: 10:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m. CEST

Sunday, June 19, 2022

2022 Formula 1 Canadian GP session times in the United States

Friday, June 17, 2022

  • Free Practice 1: 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. ET / 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. PT
  • Free Practice 2: 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. ET / 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. PT

Saturday, June 18, 2022

  • Free Practice 3: 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. ET / 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. PT
  • Qualifying: 4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. ET / 1:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m. PT

Sunday, June 19, 2022

  • Race: 2:00 p.m. ET / 11:00 a.m. PT

2022 Formula 1 Canadian GP session times in Australia

Saturday, June 18, 2022

  • Free practice 1: 04:00 – 05:00 AEST
  • Free practice 2: 07:00 – 08:00 AEST

Sunday, June 19, 2022

  • Free practice 3: 03:00 – 04:00 AEST
  • Qualifying: 06:00 – 07:00 AEST

Monday, June 20, 2022

2022 Formula 1 Canadian GP session times in Japan

Saturday, June 18, 2022

  • Free practice 1: 03:00 – 04:00 JST
  • Free practice 2: 06:00 – 07:00 JST

Sunday, June 19, 2022

  • Free practice 3: 02:00 – 03:00 JST
  • Qualifying: 05:00 – 06:00 JST

Monday, June 20, 2022

2022 Formula 1 Canadian GP session times in Africa

Friday, June 17, 2022

  • Free practice 1: 8:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. SAST / 9:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m. EAT
  • Free Practice 2: 11:00 p.m. – 12:00 a.m. SAST / 12:00 a.m. – 1:00 a.m. EAT (Saturday)

Saturday, June 18, 2022

  • Free practice 3: 7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. SAST / 8:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. EAT
  • Qualifying: 10:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m. SAST / 11:00 p.m. – 12:00 a.m. EAT

Sunday, June 19, 2022

  • Race: 8:00 p.m. SAST / 9:00 p.m. EAT

2022 Formula 1 Canadian GP session times in India

Friday, June 17, 2022

  • Free practice 1: 23:30 – 00:30 IST

Saturday, June 18, 2022

  • Free practice 2: 02:30 – 03:30 IST
  • Free practice 3: 10:30 p.m. – 11:30 p.m. IST

Sunday, June 19, 2022

  • Qualifying: 01:30 – 02:30 IST
  • Race: 11:30 p.m.

Can’t find your country or region in the list? Check the Formula 1 schedule page for broadcast times in your local time zone.

Pirelli Tire Allocation for the Canadian Grand Prix

As was the case in Monaco and Baku, Pirelli brings to Montreal the three softest tires in its range – C3 hard, C4 medium and C5 soft.